PR Connections 2: Singing in the Shower

June 11, 2010

On Ragans PR Daily News was a story about a PR stunt by Burger King U.K. where they show a young woman in a bikini taking a shower and singing every morning. According to the report, the website is aimed at men 18 and older and also offers them to win a chance to go on a date with the singing shower girl.

Maybe it’s because I’m a woman, but this seems degrading to me. A company sells themself by using sex. The same as beer. A company that should be focused on family and appealing to all sexes (male AND female) and all ages (children, youth, and adults). It is appalling to me that a company would still use this technique.

According to the report; “A Burger King spokesman explained the blatantly male bias of the campaign. He said, ‘Our research showed that breakfast is a male-centric audience for Burger King; it doesn’t resonate as well with women — we are targeting the people who are buying breakfast.'” Well, what about those women that DO eat Burger King breakfast? Way to kick them to the curb. It seems dangerous to take this step in marketing. Am I the only one who thinks so?

Check out the story here

3 Responses to “PR Connections 2: Singing in the Shower”

  1. Sarah,
    I recently came across this story, and I was equally offended. I understand that certain companies have to market their product to a specific audience, but I do not believe that fast food restuarants cater to one sex more than another. I would assume that breakfast at Burger King, not only is popular with males but also males who are up early… perhaps working or grabbing breakfast for their children before camp/school? I personally do not eat Burger King but I do know plenty of females who do. The sad thing is I do not think this will have any negative effect on the restuarant. -Amber

  2. […] of the Heart, Sarah (Katie) Redden PR Connections 2 : Singing in the Shower Sarah, I recently came across this story, and I was equally offended. I understand that certain […]

    • skred said

      Amber- I completely agree with you. I don’t think it will have any effects on Burger Kings’ business either. In fact- it probably boosted their business. All the comments and feedback they’ve been getting leaves their name in the mass’ head. Just like with Budweiser. Anheuser has always had advertisment campaigns focused towards men (granted there were occasionally some directed towards women in the early 1900’s) and yet- they’ve been around since 1860. One of the most offensive Budweiser ads I’ve ever seen had 3 young women laying on a bed in bathingsuits with budweiser written across their stomachs. It was a blatant attempt to use sex to sell- and I guess it works. As sickening as it is- it’s a type of advertising that works. It’s offensive, but it reminds me of the Absolute ad with the guy from Sex and the City almost naked. Of course the guys got upset, and that is hilarious to me.
      I would love to see though, just how well/poorly the business did after running this campaign. It’d be interesting.

Leave a Reply

